Neighborhood Opportunity Network

Supporting one another in a time of crisis

Tuesdays Together on Spirit of Silver Spring

Posted by Alix Nunan on June 10, 2010

Last Saturday, IMPACT took over Downtown Silver Spring to host a giant party, Spirit of Silver Spring. The event was a huge success and included popular activity tables like face painting and map trivia, as well as dancing, a raffle and great performances by a Samba group and an Ethiopian traditional band–definitely a crowd favorite. 6,000 people came out, including many members of the Neighbors Campaign.  During check-in at Tuesdays Together this week, everyone who’d come listed Spirit of Silver Spring as their “one good thing that happened to you” this week!  I talked to some of them about their experience, and here’s what they thought of the event.

Esmeralda:

I liked the Ethiopian band and dancing; I love all kinds of dancing from all over the world and that’s why I enjoyed it.  I also liked the fountain but didn’t bring clothes for my daughter so we didn’t go in. I also bought a raffle ticket to support IMPACT but unfortunately didn’t win. I saw a lot of people from Tuesdays Together and I enjoyed drinking lemonade in the hot weather!

Maria:

I liked the rock and roll band and loved watching the children dance and wanted to dance, but I didn’t have anyone to dance with and thought people would laugh at me… I do like dancing in the night clubs though when fewer people are watching.

Bart and Rita helping out with the map last Saturday

Bart & Rita:

We were working on the map, having people find the country where they are originally from, the country where a neighbor was from, and pick out some information about Silver Spring.  They were generally surprised with the information that they found (unfortunately the information was only in English, but we needed it in other languages).  Some of them knew the facts about Silver Spring, but most didn’t.  We also gave them the door hangers to meet their neighbors and they reacted well to the idea.  In the end, we identified 59 different countries, and people were surprised by how many different countries there were also.  We’d run the Race for the Cure that morning, so we were too tired to stay for the dancing, but we saw the Ethiopian dancing and it was very good.

Rosa:

I thought it was going to rain but it didn’t!  I loved the music–at the beginning it was kind of slow, but then it got better.  It was great to see everyone from Tuesdays Together, and faces I hadn’t seen in a while as well.  The music made me dance all around!  My favorite part of the night was when Ira from IMPACT came up and said, “Rosa can we dance?” The water in the fountain was great! After that, I went to Sergio’s in Wheaton to dance–in my wet clothes!  I had a fever the next morning.

Rosa cools off in the fountain after dancing in the heat at Spirit of Silver Spring

Rosa cools off in the fountain after dancing in the heat this Saturday

To see more photos and video from the event, visit our facebook page.

One Response to “Tuesdays Together on Spirit of Silver Spring”

  1. […] Tuesdays Together on Spirit of Silver Spring […]

Leave a Reply

 
